comment Add Comment
Posted on Last updated

IEBC Set To be Reconstituted According to Uhuru-Raila Pact

Kenyans could be staring at far-reaching legal changes as a raft of recommendations by the team to spearhead dialogue between President Uhuru Kenyatta and Opposition leader Raila Odinga are enforced.
Emerging reports have it that the Independent Electoral & Boundaries Commission (IEBC) would be the first casualties as proposals in the secret pact gets to be implemented.

READ ALSO:Citizen TV’s Kanze Dena In Mourning- Uhuru Sends Heartfelt Message

According to State House blogger,Robert Alai,the Electoral body will be reduced to size and only one commissioner will be left to hold office.

Currently,the agency is supposed to have a total of 8 top commissioners,namely;

  • Wafula W. Chebukati – Chairperson – sworn in on 19 January 2017
  • Consolata Nkatha Bucha Maina – Vice-Chairperson – sworn in on 19 January 2017
  • Prof. Abdi Yakub Guliye – sworn in on 19 January 2017
  • Margaret Wanjala Mwachanya – sworn in on 19 January 2017
  • Boya Molu – sworn in on 19 January 2017
  • Paul Kibiwott Kurgat – sworn in on 19 January 2017
  • Ezra Chiloba – 2015 – Commission Secretary, CEO
  • Roselyn Akombe – sworn in on 19 January 2017, Resigned on 18 October 2017 (resigned on 18/10/2017)

READ ALSO:Kalonzo Announces Next Move After Raila’s Truce With Uhuru

The former Prime Minister has been rooting for electoral reforms as one of the irreducible minimum that would trigger dialogue with the Head of State.

During the closed-door meeting of the two leaders,a retinue of advisors, led by Lawyer Paul Mwangi (from Raila’s camp) and Ambassador Martin Kimani (from Jubilee) ,were appointed to oversee full implementation the recommendations.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *